Social and economic portrait Statistical informations for the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg
  Search
  Home | Links | Feedback | Contact Help | Sitemap | About this site
      PrintSend to

> home

Economic and social portrait of Luxembourg

No more updates on these pages.

You will find a more recent review of Luxembourg's economic and social situation in the Statec's KALEIDOSCOPE.

This “economic and social portrait” of Luxembourg fulfils the need to provide the general public with a résumé, summarising structural developments over recent years.

The first chapter features an overview of recent economic development as well as factors of growth and competitiveness and explains how these factors fit together.

The second part provides a more detailed description of changes in the fields of demography, employment, the productive structure and external economic relations, with “spotlights”on certain important or “buoyant”sectors such as financial services, transport and communications and business services.

The recent emergence of the concept of “sustainable development” clearly shows that economic, social and environmental issues are closely linked. Also,“human development” cannot be understood very well purely from the aggregates of national accounts. Therefore, the chapter on social conditions has been filled out and expanded to take account of environmental data in particular.

Generally speaking, a country’s peculiarities and specificities can be revealed only through a comparative approach. In a globalised world, an economy must constantly determine its position in relation to other countries and regions with a comparable level of development. This publication contains numerous indicators that should enable the reader to see where Luxembourg stands in this comparison, especially with regard to its competitiveness and attractiveness.

At the start of the 21st century, Luxembourg’s economy and society are facing a new turn. The remarkable growth from 1985 to 2000 has given way to lower levels of economic progress, and it’s impossible to say, on publication of this document, whether this is simply a temporary swing or whether we are heading for a prolonged period of reduced growth.The “economic and social portrait” gives a general picture which will, we trust, be widely accessible. It shows the key elements of the strengths and weaknesses with which Luxembourg is facing the new challenges.



 Publication Archives
Economic and social portrait of Luxembourg

Summary

Order

PDF version (3 MB) of the Economic and social portrait of Luxembourg


 Recent informations box_dossier

The Luxembourg economy. A kaleidoscope 2006

Portail des statistiques


Haut de page

Copyright © STATEC Legal aspects | Contact

Portail statistique du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg Informations statistiques du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg Grand-Duché du Luxembourg
  Recherche
  Home | Liens | Vos réactions | Contact Aide | Index | A propos du site
      ImprimerEnvoyer à

> home

Portrait économique et social du Luxembourg

Ces pages ne sont plus mises à jours.

Vous trouvez un aperçu plus récent sur la situation économique et sociale du Luxembourg dans le KALEIDOSCOPE du Statec.

Ce « Portrait économique et social » du Luxembourg, réalisé par une équipe rédactionnelle du STATEC, répond à la nécessité de fournir au « grand public » un document de synthèse résumant les développements structurels au cours des années récentes.

La première partie n'est pas seulement consacrée à une vue d'ensemble de l'évolution économique récente, mais également aux facteurs de croissance et de compétitivité, ainsi qu'à l'imbrication de ces facteurs.

Dans un deuxième volet, on trouvera une présentation plus détaillée des mutations dans les domaines de la démographie, de l'emploi, de la structure productive et des relations économiques extérieures, avec des « coups de projecteur » sur certains secteurs importants ou « porteurs », comme les services financiers, les « transports et communications » et les « services aux entreprises ».

L'émergence récente du concept de « développement durable » montre bien que l'économique, le social et l'environnemental sont étroitement liés. En outre, le « développement humain » ne peut être appréhendé que très imparfaitement par les seuls agrégats de la comptabilité nationale. La troisième partie concernant les conditions sociales a donc été étoffée et étendue en tenant compte, notamment, des données environnementales.

D'une façon générale, les particularités, respectivement spécificités, d'un pays ne peuvent être mises en évidence que par une approche comparative. Par ailleurs, dans un monde globalisé, une économie doit constamment se positionner par rapport aux autres pays et régions ayant un niveau de développement comparable. Le présent "Portrait économique et social" recèle de nombreux indicateurs qui devraient permettre au lecteur de situer le Luxembourg dans cette comparaison, notamment quant à sa compétitivité et son degré d'attractivité.

En ce début du 21e siècle, l'économie et la société luxembourgeoises se trouvent en face d'un nouveau tournant. La croissance exceptionnelle de 1985 à 2000 a fait place à des taux de progression plus faibles de l'économie, sans que l'on puisse dire - à la rédaction du Portrait - s'il s'agit d'un simple retournement conjoncturel ou si l'on s'oriente vers une période prolongée de croissance réduite. Le « Portrait économique et social » constitue un état des lieux synthétique fournissant les données-clés concernant les forces et les faiblesses avec lesquelles le Luxembourg affronte les nouveaux défis.



 Publication Archives
Portrait économique et social du Luxembourg

Sommaire

Commande

Version PDF (3 MB) du portrait économique et social du Luxembourg


 Informations récentes box_dossier

L'économie luxembourgeoise. Un kaléidoscope 2006

Portail des statistiques


Haut de page

Copyright © STATEC Aspects légaux | Contact